Monday, September 30, 2013

What's New(s)?

Flaming Lips and Tame Impala cover each other

The sonic minds behind the Flaming Lips and Australian-band Tame Impala, will soon be doing a psychedelic swap and covering each other for a forthcoming EP release. According to Flips fansite Future Heart, the vinyl EP will feature two covers from each band and be sold at their upcoming tour run together in October and November. For their part, Wayne Coyne and crew will cover Tame Impala's "Runaway, House, City, Clouds" and "Elephant", while Impala will take to "Are You A Hypnotist" and "Silver Trembling Hands", the later of which you can see a live performance of below.

In other Flaming Lips news, Wayne Coyne has announced the band is recording for the Ender's Game soundtrack and dropping an additional 6 song-EP entitled Peace Sword for a Record Store Day Black Friday event.

"Silver Trembling Hands" (Cover)- Tame Impala

David Bowie announces The Next Day Expanded Edition
David Bowie's comeback year will continue with the re-release of his gripping 24th album The Next Day. Out November 5 through Columbia, The Next Day: Expanded Edition features the original album on Disc 1, a 10-track blend of remixes and unreleased items on Disc 2, and a DVD featuring the album's four accompanying videos on Disc 3. Including unheard offerings named "Atomica" and "Like A Rocket Man", the second disc also contains a remix of Next Day track "Love is Lost" produced by LCD Soundsystem frontman James Murphy. The second disc tracklist is listed below, along with the video for "Valentine's Day". 

The Next Day: Expanded Edition
1. "Atomica"
2. "Love is Lost" (Hello Steve Reich Mix by James Murphy)
3. "Plan"
4. "The Informer"
5. "Like a Rocket Man"
6. "Born in a UFO"
7. "I'd Rather Be High" (Venetian Mix)
8. "I'll Take You There"
9. "God Bless the Girl"
10. "So She"

"Valentine's Day"

Don Trip & Starlito debut new video


Don Trip and Starlito's original Step Brothers mixtape was flat-out one of the best rap release of 2011. For nearly an hour plus, the pair barreled through: fistpumpers, gutbusters, and "tearjerkers" with equal aplomb. Couched inregional affectations, trap rap drums and bucolic soul samples, the Tennessee natives transcended any area code for something more relatable and impossibly enjoyable. 

A large part of that enjoyment stemmed from Trip and 'Lito's camaraderie, they traded lines like a rap tag-team of 20 years, though they'd only known each other for a year at that point. If new cut "Caesar and Brutus" (from Step Brothers 2) is any indication, the ensuing two years has only strengthened that camaraderie. Starlito continues his emotive mumble while Trip's affective snarls croaks over a brooding string section and crisp snaps. They don't tinker with the original recipe one bit, they just "leave it be and be quiet". 

Step Brothers 2 is out October 17 and you can expect a review of it here on AllFreshSounds after it drops.

No comments:

Post a Comment