Wednesday, January 8, 2014

"Take Away These Early Grave Blues"- Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra

For anyone that got into Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra through sister band Godspeed You! Black Emperor, slowly start to walk away from this one. All of the orchestral swells that made GY!BE's music so triumphant has been cast to ground; wriggling on its belly like Satan. Guitar lines continue to quaver and float, but they feel trapped in an amber shell of pounding drums and dissonance. In fact, it's more appropriate to label this one "punk" than "post-rock".
Efrim Menuck's lacerating pleas to "let them sing on" scan as the sort of us against them call-to-arms common in the genre. When strings enter in they're more scraped on than played, envision a handsaw slicing through a violin and you're not far from the truth. And when a build towards the heaven seems possible, the band darts into a final cloud of feedback; obscuring themselves and ensuring there will be no redemption. "Take Away These Early Grave Blues" doesn't burn out; it fades away in the brightest hue imaginable.

"Take Away These Early Grave Blues" follows the strident politicking of "Austerity Blues" and the mournful tribute to Joey Bada$$ compatriot Capital Steez, "Rains Thru The Roof At Thee Grande Ballroom (For Capital Steez)". Both are from their upcoming seventh LP F*** Off Get Free We Pour Light On Everything, which drops January 24 through Constellation Records. You can see the tracklist below and hear their latest offering after the jump.

F*** Off Get Free We Pour Light on Everything:
1. "F*** Get Free (For the Island of Montreal)"
2. "Austerity Blues"
3. "Take Away These Early Grave Blues"
4. "Little Ones Run"
5. "What We Loved Was Not Enough"
6. "Rains Thru the Roof at Thee Grande Ballroom (For Capital Steez)"

No comments:

Post a Comment